The sale of nicotine vaping devices is currently prohibited in 39 countries. In many countries, where it is legal to sell, buy and use SNP, they are nevertheless treated as tobacco products, which not only imposes bans on use in public places, but also prohibits any promotion of SNP as a safer option to smoking.

The countries which currently ban the sale of nicotine vapes (e-cigarettes) are:

Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Australia Bhutan Brazil Brunei Cambodia Chile East Timor Egypt Ethiopia Gambia India Iran Japan Kuwait Laos Mauritius Mexico Nepal Nicaragua North Korea Norway Oman Panama Qatar Seychelles Singapore Sri Lanka Suriname Syria Taiwan Thailand Turkey Turkmenistan Uganda Uruguay Venezuela Vietnam